Friday, April 07, 2006

Crenshaw Still in the Mix, Campbell Leads Masters

A good day for Texans at The Masters. Ben Crenshaw followed up his unlikely 71 in the opening round with a 72 and is in the hunt at 1-under. Who'da thunk it?

And Chad Campbell is your second-round leader at 6-under, three shots clear of a group in second. He's being chased by the best: Vijay Singh, Phil Mickelson, Ernie Els, Retief Goosen and Tiger Woods are all in easy striking distance.

Can Campbell become the latest Texan to win The Masters? We haven't had a winner since Crenshaw's emotional 1995 triumph. Here's the list of Texans to win The Masters:

1995 - Ben Crenshaw
1984 - Ben Crenshaw
1971 - Charles Coody
1956 - Jack Burke Jr.
1953 - Ben Hogan
1951 - Ben Hogan
1950 - Jimmy Demaret
1947 - Jimmy Demaret
1942 - Byron Nelson
1940 - Jimmy Demaret
1939 - Ralph Guldahl
1937 - Byron Nelson

Not a bad list to be on.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please refrain from using profanity or insulting other commenters your comments. Use common sense; in other words: Play nice! Thanks.