Saturday, July 08, 2006

Texas State Open Tees Off in a Few Days

The field for the Texas State Open is set - 156 players tee off on July 11 and conclude play on July 14, 72 holes of stroke play at The Cascades in Tyler.

The Texas State Open, based on its list of past champions, must be considered the biggest tournament in Texas outside of the PGA events. Those past champions include Lee Trevino, Ben Crenshaw, Homero Blancas, Jeff Maggert, Cameron Beckman, Blaine McCallister, Jack Burke Jr. and Keith Fergus.

The field this year is made up of 133 professionals and 23 amateurs, most of whom gained entry through 26 different qualifiers - played not only in Texas but also in Louisiana, Arkansas and Oklahoma during the month of June. Also in the field is NFL quarterback Tommy Maddox, a Roanoke resident who received a special exemption.

Kelly Grunewald, the 2002 and 2005 champion, is back trying to become the third three-time winner of the Texas State Open (Crenshaw and Maggert are the other two). And Stuart Deane, the Australian resident of Arlington who recently won the Trump Million Dollar Invitational and is a cofounder of the Birdies for Kids charity, is in the field.

The Texas State Open groupings and tee times are available here. The tournament homepage - which will be updated with results throughout - is available here on the NTPGA Web site.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please refrain from using profanity or insulting other commenters your comments. Use common sense; in other words: Play nice! Thanks.