Thursday, September 21, 2006

Stonebridge Ranch Pro Claims NTPGA Section Championship

The Top 5 finishers at the Fina NTPGA Section Championship, played at Ridgewood Country Club in Waco:

Perry Arthur, Stonebridge Ranch CC-Dye, 70-68-68--206
Lindy Miller, Mira Vista Golf Club, 73-68-68--209
Jamie Elliott, Bridlewood Golf Course, 70-76-66--212
Tom Strueber, Columbian Country Club, 73-68-72--213
Cameron Doan, Preston Trail Golf Club, 75-69-70--214
Michael Henderson, Stevens Park Golf Course, 68-74-72--214

Here's the report from the NTPGA:

Waco, TX – Perry Arthur, director of instruction at Stonebridge Ranch Country Club (Dye Course) not only maintained his over night lead, he increased it throughout the final round of the FINA NTPGA Section Championship at Ridgewood Country Club. Arthur finished the day with 34-34 – 68 (two under par) and a 54-hole tournament total of 70-68-68 – 206 (four under par). With his win today, Perry Arthur becomes only the second player ever to win the NTPGA Section Championship four (4) times, joining PGA Life Member Robert Hoyt with the distinct honor.

Perry Arthur (four under par) and Lindy Miller, director of golf at Mira Vista Golf Club (one under par) were the only players in red figures for the Championship. Arthur and Miller also finished first and second place respectively in the 2006 Cleveland Golf Player of the Year Points Standings.

The FINA NTPGA Championship presented by Art & Stone, Green Grass Golf Group, Straight Down Clothing Company, Sunbirds International and Yamaha Golf Cars was conducted at Ridgewood Country Club, the 6,640-yard, par 70 course located in Waco, Texas. The field consisted of 66 PGA professionals from the Northern Texas Section of the PGA of America competing for the $30,000.00 purse, with the Arthur taking home $5,000.00 and the title of NTPGA champion. Along with the trophy and prize money, Perry Arthur earns an exemption into both the 2007 EDS Byron Nelson Championship and the 2006 Permian Basin Charity Golf Classic scheduled for October 12-15, 2006.

The Championship is the fourth and final individual stroke play championship and Player of the Year points event of the 2006 Northern Texas PGA season. The four events, the Eastern, Western, NTPGA Professional and NTPGA Section Championship are used as qualifying for the year-end Cleveland Golf Match Play Championship and Player of the Year, the Ben Hogan/NTPGA Scoring Average Award and the ten (10) spots for the Texas Joe Black Cup team.
Full results are available on the NTPGA Web site.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please refrain from using profanity or insulting other commenters your comments. Use common sense; in other words: Play nice! Thanks.