Sunday, February 11, 2007

STPGA Scholarships

Young golfers who have completed high school or enrolled in a certified college or university by Sept. 1, 2007, and live in South Texas, can now obtain applications for scholarships offered by the Southern Texas PGA Foundation.

Applications (and more info) are available at, and must be submitted by April 4. Here's a rundown, from the STPGA, on the scholarships available:

  • The Nicholas Battle Scholarship, named after a junior golfer who passed away in an accident, is valued at $3,000 and is available to all applicants.
  • Three Tommy Aycock Scholarships, named after the late PGA Professional who won the STPGA Section Championship six times, will be presented in 2006. Valued at $1,000 each, the Tommy Aycock scholarships will be awarded to students residing in the five-county area (Nueces, San Patricio, Aransas, Kleberg, Wells, Bee and Refugio counties) around which Aycock spent much of his career.
  • A $1,500 Hardy Loudermilk Scholarship, named for a long-time San Antonio golf professional who earned national PGA Golf Professional of the Year honors in 1968. The Hardy Loudermilk Scholarship will be presented to a student who resides in Bexar County or one of the five counties adjacent to Bexar County.
  • The Warren Smith Scholarship will be awarded to a graduating high school senior who resides in Bexar County or one of the five counties adjacent to Bexar County. It is named after PGA professional Warren Smith and is valued at $1,500. Smith is a past head golf professional at San Antonio’s Country Club.
  • The Joe Finger Scholarship, valued at $1,000, was created last year by the members of Riverhill Country Club in Kerrville, and Mark Caldwell, the club’s head golf professional. It is named in honor of the late golf course architect, Joe Finger— Riverhill is one of many course designed by Finger. The scholarship will be awarded to a resident of Kerr County.
    The Byron Nelson Scholarship was created in 2004 by members of Riverhill Country Club— Mark Caldwell, Riverhill’s head golf professional, heads up fundraising efforts for the scholarship. The scholarship is named for the record-setting Hall of Fame professional golf, who teamed with Joe Finger to design Riverhill’s golf course. The scholarship, valued at $1,000, will be presented to a resident of Kerr County.
  • The Joe Moore Scholarship, valued at $1,000, is available to all STPGA Foundation Scholarship applicants. It is named for and was created by a San Antonio golfer whose history includes two San Antonio Amateur Championships and a role on a late-1940s NCAA Championship team at Louisiana State University. Moore, a member at San Antonio’s Woodlake Country Club, was the head golf professional at Lackland Air Force Base’s golf course when he retired in the 1980s and played on the PGA Tour for several years.
  • A pair of George Hannon Scholarships, valued at $2,500 each, will be presented to students whose primary residence lies with the Austin area (Travis County and the counties contiguous to Travis County). The George Hannon Scholarships are named for the former University of Texas golf coach who served as the president of the Southern Texas PGA in 1972-73 and was twice honored as the STPGA Golf Professional of the Year. Hannon is a member of the Golf Coaches Association of America Hall of Fame.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please refrain from using profanity or insulting other commenters your comments. Use common sense; in other words: Play nice! Thanks.