Monday, June 02, 2008

Texas Amateur Championship This Weekend

The Texas Amateur Championship takes place this weekend. Here's a preview from the Texas Golf Association:

As part of its yearlong 100th anniversary celebration, Houston Country Club will be hosting the 2008 Texas Amateur, presented by Guaranty Bank. The championship, conducted by the Texas Golf Association, is scheduled from Thursday, June 5, through Sunday, June 8.

Through the years Houston Country Club has attained a well-earned reputation for supporting amateur golf. Among much else, the club was one of the five charter members of the Texas Golf Association, conducted the Houston Invitational for nearly forty years, and has been the site
of the Texas Amateur on seven previous occasions - the first in 1911 and the most recent in 2001.

Of the nearly 750 entries received this year, 33 players were fully exempt from qualifying based on past performance. The remaining hopefuls had to battle it out in 19 qualifiers held across the state during the months of April and May, vying for one of the 111 available
spots in the elite 144-player starting field.

Format for the Championship is 72-holes individual stoke play. All contestants will play 18-holes on both Thursday, June 5, and Friday, June 6. After 36-holes the field will be cut to the low 54 players and ties heading into the final two rounds on Saturday and Sunday.

Dallas' Charlie Holland, the 2007 Texas Amateur champion, is back to defend his title. Other top contenders returning from last year are runners-up Andrew Landry, of Groves, and Fort Worth's Robby Ormand; fourth place finisher Terrence Miskell of New Braunfels; as well as
Jhonattan Vegas, of Austin, and San Antonio's Jon Mathias, both of whom ended up in a six-way tie for sixth place.

In its 99-year history, the Texas Amateur has produced a notable list of winners and has long been considered to be the state's most coveted amateur title. Over a dozen current PGA Tour and Champions Tour players have their names engraved on the H.L. Edwards Memorial Trophy, including Mark Brooks, Charles Coody, Ben Crenshaw, Bob Estes, Bruce Lietzke, and Scott Verplank.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please refrain from using profanity or insulting other commenters your comments. Use common sense; in other words: Play nice! Thanks.