Tuesday, March 31, 2009

Texas Amateur Deadline Approaching

The entry deadline for the Texas Amateur Championship is fast approaching. If you're interested in playing you must submit your entry by April 8.

This year marks the 100th anniversary of the Texas Amateur. It is scheduled for Miramont Country Club in Bryan, June 25-28. Past champions include Mark Brooks, Charles Coody, Ben Crenshaw, Bob Estes, Bruce Lietzke and Scott Verplank.

Entries in the Texas Amateur are open to male golfers with handicap indexes of 6.4 or lower, and who belong to a club that is a current member of the Texas Golf Association. While a handful of golfers are exempt from qualifying, most entrants will have to play in a qualifier. Qualifying tournaments will take place across the state from April 21 through June 3, 18 of them in all.

More information, including the full list of eligibility requirements as well as the schedule of qualifiers, is available on the TGA Web site. Golfers can also enter online through that link.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please refrain from using profanity or insulting other commenters your comments. Use common sense; in other words: Play nice! Thanks.