Tuesday, January 26, 2010

STPGA Scholarship Applications Available

Golfers who are completing high school this year, or will be enrolled in college this year, take note: Applications for the 2010 Souther Texas PGA scholarships are now available. The STPGA will award at least 12 scholarships, totaling at least $44,000. Applications must be received by April 5, and winners are announced May 19.

Applications, as well as minimum qualifications, are available on the STPGA Web site in the "Junior Golf and Scholarships" section, or at the STPGA office at Cypresswood Golf Club in Spring.

The STPGA will award the following scholarships:

  • Three Tommy Aycock Scholarships, named after the late PGA Professional who won the STPGA Section Championship six times, will be presented in 2010. Valued at $1,000 each, the Tommy Aycock scholarships will be awarded to students residing in the seven-county area (Nueces, San Patricio, Aransas, Kleberg, Wells, Bee and Refugio counties) around which Aycock spent much of his career.

  • A pair of George Hannon Scholarships, valued at $10,000 each ($2,500 per year for four years), will be presented to students whose primary residence lies with the Austin area (Travis County and the counties contiguous to Travis County). The George Hannon Scholarships are named for the former University of Texas golf coach who served as the president of the Southern Texas PGA in 1972-73 and was twice honored as the STPGA Golf Professional of the Year. Hannon is a member of the Golf Coaches Association of America Hall of Fame.

  • The Joe Moore Scholarship, valued at $1,000, is available to all STPGA Foundation Scholarship applicants. It is named for and was created by a San Antonio golfer whose history includes two San Antonio Amateur Championships and a role on a late-1940s NCAA Championship team at Louisiana State University. Moore, a member at San Antonio’s Woodlake Country Club, played on the PGA Tour for several years and later became the head golf professional at Lackland Air Force Base’s golf course. He retired in the 1980s.

  • Four Lauren Johnson Foundation Scholarships will be awarded in 2010. Two of the scholarships will be valued at $2,500, one at $1,500 and one at $1,000; all recipients must be graduating seniors within the Victoria Independent School District. The Lauren Johnson Foundation and scholarships were created to honor the memory of a young golfer who passed away in an automobile accident.

  • The Ginny Termeer Scholarship was created in 2008 to honor the life and memory of the mother of Steve Termeer, the head golf professional at The University of Texas Golf Club in Austin. Mrs. Termeer was a chemistry teacher in Conroe for more than 20 years and was a dedicated golfer. She was a former president of the Women’s Golf Association at Walden on Lake Conroe Golf Club in Montgomery and a volunteer scorer at the Houston Open, the PGA Tour Championship and numerous other tournaments. The Ginny Termeer Scholarship, valued at $2,500, will be awarded to a junior golfer residing in Montgomery County or any contiguous county.

  • The Bill Sitton Sr. Scholarship, valued at $10,000 (renewable annually; $2,500 per year for four years), is available to all STPGA Foundation scholarship applicants. It was created in 2008 to "assist aspiring college-bound students with furthering their educations." Billy Sitton Jr., the managing director of Club Corp’s international office, said the scholarship honors "a hard-working guy who enjoyed golf and introduced me to it."

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please refrain from using profanity or insulting other commenters your comments. Use common sense; in other words: Play nice! Thanks.