Wednesday, March 24, 2010

Gill Barnett Spring Classic

From the Southern Texas PGA:

Casey Carnes of Cibolo started the second and final round of the 2010 Gill Barnett Golf Spring Classic with a one shot lead, and that is exactly where he finished the championship, posting a one stroke win over James Brown of Houston. Carnes won the Southern Texas PGA’s first major of the season at The Woodlands Tournament Course with a final round of one under par 71 and a 36-hole total of three under par, 141. That was just enough to edge Brown, who started the day two shots back but posted a 70 for a 142 total.

Several players were either tied for the lead, or close to the lead, throughout the final round, but in the end it was Carnes, an assistant professional at Woodlake Country Club in San Antonio holding the $3,000.00 winners check. Carl Cooper of Humble finished in third place two shots back at 143. Those were the only three players to finish under par for the tournament.

Troy Schleicher of The Woodlands cruised to victory in the Senior Division, shooting a final round 69 for a three under par total of 141, good enough for a 10 shot win over Carl Baker of Sugar Land and Garry Rippy of Austin.

Top Finishers
Casey Carnes, Woodlake Country Club, 70-71-141
James Brown, River Oaks CC, 72-70-142
Carl Cooper, Humble Oil Patch Golf Center, 72-71-143
Brad Lardon, Miramont CC, 71-73-144
Matt Trevino, Riverhill CC, 71-75-146
Full results

Horseshoe Casino Pro-Pro

From the Northern Texas PGA:

Shreveport, LA – The team of Vince Jewell, PGA assistant golf professional at Woodbridge Golf Club, and Rick Woodson, PGA teaching professional at Woodbridge Golf Club, fired a two round total of 67-64--131 to capture the title at the Northern Texas PGA Horseshoe Casino Pro-Pro Championship. Jewell and Woodson defeated the team of Jamie Elliott, PGA director of instruction at Bridlewood Golf Club, and Bruce Smith, PGA director of instruction at Brookhaven Country Club, in a two-hole sudden death playoff with a nine-foot birdie putt made by Woodson. Jewell and Woodson will take home $3,700.00 for their victory.

The four-ball stroke play Northern Texas PGA major championship featured 84 PGA professionals competing at Southern Trace Country Club, a par 72, 7,015 yard Arthur Hills designed private facility located in Shreveport, Louisiana.

The Northern Texas PGA Horseshoe Casino Pro-Pro Championship was presented by Ace Laminates of Texas, American Express, Club Car, Jim Quinn Finer Golf Products and TaylorMade-adidas Ashworth Golf.

Top Finishers
Vince Jewell/Richard Woodson, 67-64--131
Bruce Smith/Jamie Elliott, 65-66--131
Mark Viskozki/Chuck Young, 68-66--134
Michael Hurley/Mark Hughes, 68-67--135
Greg Sikes/Lee Rhind, 67-68--135
Full scores

Sunday, March 14, 2010

Good News for Laredo Golfers

The March 15 edition of Golf World includes an article titled "Altered Course." The article is not yet online, but golfers in and around Laredo will want to pick up a copy or check the Web site in coming weeks to read the article.

It's about the terrible state of the golf course economy. Course openings have falled precipitously over the past decade, hitting a nadir in 2009. That's bad news for golf course design companies, and for golfers in general. So how does that translate into good news for Laredo?

Laredo is one of the few places these days that you'll find a golf course project moving full steam ahead. The City of Laredo is building a new municipal course, and because business is so bad across the United States, golf course designers are fighting to get the Laredo project.

The city is spending "only" $6.6 million on the new course, about 40 percent of which will go for infrastructure and other non-golf essentials. Some of the design firms fighting for the job wouldn't have been interested at all just a few years ago in project in Laredo, and with so small (by their standards) a budget.

But in today's environment? According to Golf World, some of the famous course architects who are interested in landing the project include Jack Nicklaus, Arnold Palmer, Greg Norman, Pete Dye, Robert Trent Jones Jr., Michael Hurdzan, D.A. Weibring, Hale Irwin, David McLay Kidd, Lanny Wadkins and Peter Jacobsen.

The golf course design industry's hard times are going to wind up giving Laredo a great new municipal golf course.

Monday, March 01, 2010

Beaumont Team Victorious at South Regional Four Ball

From the Texas Golf Association:

Katy – Another great day of weather greeted the players at The Club at Falcon Point this morning and at the end, it was Giles Kibbe and Chris Davis who finished the day the way they started, on top of the leader board. After carding an impressive 9-under par 63 yesterday, the duo from Beaumont fought their way around windy conditions to post a second round 4-under 68 which was good enough to get them in a playoff with the team of David Pocknall and Trevor Hyde.

Both teams played extremely well with Pocknall and Hyde making six birdies on the day while Kibbe and Davis also made six but were accompanied by two bogeys. It was a short playoff however as Chris Davis was able to sink his lengthy putt for par while both Pocknall and Hyde made bogey (It was their first team bogey of the competition).

Starting the day in second place was the team of John Dowdall and Kip Guidry. They also played extremely well coming in with a 4-under par, 68 for a two day total of 132, just one shot out of the playoff. Seven birdies were made between the pair which normally would have put them on top of the leader board at the end of the day, but a costly triple bogey on the par 5, 5th hole was enough to keep them out of the winner’s circle.

Rounding out the top 5 were the teams of Wayne Hollingsworth (Richmond) and Steven Smith (Sealy) and Pat Youngs (League City) and John Pierce (San Antonio). Hollingsworth and Smith came out of the gates hot by birdying 4 of their first six holes but were only able to muster up one birdie between the two of them on the back.

With the first tournament of the year comes another season to determine who the South Regional Player of the Year will be. Kibbe and Davis are off to a good start earning 400 points each for their victory while David Pocknall starts his 2010 campaign to repeat by earning 250 points along with Trevor Hyde.

Top Finishers
Giles Kibbe, Beaumont & Chris Davis, Beaumont--63-68--131
David Pocknall, Katy & Trevor Hyde, Kerrville--65-66--131
John Dowdall, Houston & Kip Guidry, Missouri City--64-68--132
Wayne Hollingsworth, Richmond & Steven Bennett Smith, Sealy--68-67--135
Pat Youngs, League City & John Pierce, San Antonio--68-68--136
Full scores