Friday, September 17, 2010

Woodson Captures NTPGA Section Crown

From the Northern Texas PGA:

DALLAS, TX – Richard Woodson, PGA director of instruction at Woodbridge Golf Club, posted a two-round total score of four-under par, 140 to win the Northern Texas PGA Section Championship. Woodson took a two stroke lead into the eighteenth hole and was forced to punch out into the fairway after an errant tee shot into the right rough. His smart play paid off and he was able to salvage bogey to win by one shot. Woodson’s consistent play throughout the round included three birdies, three bogeys and twelve pars. This victory marks Woodson’s first Northern Texas PGA individual major championship. Woodson will take home a $7,250.00 check for his victory and earned an exemption into the 2011 PGA Tour HP Byron Nelson Championship.

Finishing in second place was Robert Boisvert, PGA director of golf at Harbor Lakes Country Club. Boisvert posted rounds of even-par, 72 and three under par, 69 for a total of three-under par, 141. Two players finished in a tie for third place at 142 (-2) two-under par and included Perry Arthur, PGA teaching professional at Sherrill Park Golf Course and Nicholas Griffin, PGA teaching professional at L.B. Houston Golf Course.

The NTPGA Section Championship, presented by NIKE Golf, PGA TOUR, HP Byron Nelson Championship, TELOS Fitness Center and Yamaha Golf Cars, was conducted at Dallas Athletic Club (Blue Course), the 6,890-yard; par 72 golf course located in Dallas, Texas. The field consisted of 84 PGA professionals from the Northern Texas Section of the PGA of America competed for a $41,100.00 purse.

The Championship was the fourth and final individual stroke play championship and Cleveland Golf / Srixon / Club Car Player of the Year points event of the 2010 season. The four events, the Eastern Championship, the Western Championship, PGA Professional Championship and NTPGA Section Championship are used as qualifiers for the year-end Cleveland Golf / Club Car Match Play Championship, Player of the Year Points Challenge, the Ben Hogan/NTPGA Scoring Average Award and the eleven spots for the 2010 NTPGA Texas Joe Black Cup team.

Top Finishers
Richard Woodson, Woodbridge GC, 68-72--140
Robert Boisvert, Harbor Lakes CC, 72-69--141
Perry Arthur, Sherrill Park GC, 70-72--142
Nicholas Griffin, L. B. Houston GC, 71-71--142
Jason Daly, Denton CC, 76-67--143
Dean Larsson, Bent Tree CC, 74-69--143
Rodney Cook, Four Seasons Resort, 71-72--143
Britt Patton, Dallas National GC, 70-73--143
Full scores

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please refrain from using profanity or insulting other commenters your comments. Use common sense; in other words: Play nice! Thanks.