Monday, October 25, 2010

NTPGA Match Play Goes to Larsson

From the Northern Texas PGA:

FORT WORTH, Texas – The Championship Match of the Cleveland Golf / Srixon / Club Car NTPGA Match Play Championship featured Dean Larsson, PGA assistant golf professional at Bent Tree Country Club (#2 seed) and Cameron Doan, PGA head golf professional at Preston Trail Golf Club (#4 seed). They both are past NTPGA Match Play Champions with Cameron Doan capturing the title in 2000 and Dean Larsson in 2007. Larsson (12) and Doan (4) began the day with 16 NTPGA major individual titles between them.

The Championship Match was closely contested with Doan leading 1 up mid way through the front nine only to be all square after the opening nine holes. Doan won the tenth hole but quickly saw the match return to all square with Larsson winning the 11th hole. The match remained all square through 14 holes until Larsson made birdie on the 15th hole to go 1 up and take the lead in the match. Larsson was able to hang onto his lead going into the 18th hole with the match dormie. Doan’s second shot on the 18th hole found the back greenside bunker while Larsson was safely on the green in two shots. Doan conceded the hole to Larsson after his bunker shot hung up in the fringe. Larsson won the Championship Match 2 up and was able to break Doan's impressive nine in a row match winning streak at Shady Oaks Country Club in this event.

This marked Larsson’s 13th NTPGA individual major championship. Larsson is fourth on the NTPGA individual majors won list with 13 majors behind only Lindy Miller (14), Benny Passon (16) and Perry Arthur (18). Larsson took home $4,000.00 of the $28,800.00 purse and became a two-time NTPGA Match Play Champion.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please refrain from using profanity or insulting other commenters your comments. Use common sense; in other words: Play nice! Thanks.