Monday, October 11, 2010

Teams Announced for 2010 Joe Black Cup

From the Southern Texas PGA:

The Texas Joe Black Cup Matches, an annual Ryder Cup-style tournament featuring teams of golf professionals from the Southern Texas and Northern Texas Sections of the PGA of America, began in 1981.

The Southern Texas PGA team won the first tournament, held at Houston’s Westwood Country Club, by a 15-9 margin. The STPGA won the most recent renewal of the competition, taking a 13-11 victory at Miramont Country Club in Bryan last fall. With that victory, the series was tied— the STPGA has won 14 times, the NTPGA has won 14 times, and there has been one tie.

One of the Sections will have the chance to pull ahead in a few weeks when the Northern Texas PGA hosts the 30th Annual Texas Joe Black Cup Matches at the Four Seasons Resort and Club in Irving, Texas, on Oct. 31-Nov. 2.

That in mind, the memberships of both 2010 teams have now been named. Led by Captain Gordon Johnson, the head golf professional at Houston Country Club, and Assistant Captain Ken McDonald, head golf professional at Houston’s BraeBurn Country Club, the Southern Texas PGA team will include nine professional who played their ways onto the team via the Section’s tournament-based points competition.

They are: Ricky Arnett (head golf professional, Great Hills Country Club, Austin); James Brown (head golf professional, River Oaks Country Club, Houston); Jesse Horner (head golf professional, Horseshoe Bay Resort, Horseshoe Bay); Jeff Hunter (director of golf, The Club at Sonterra, San Antonio); Brad Lardon (director of golf, Miramont Country Club, Bryan); Justin Orbin (director of golf, Point Venture Golf Course, Port Venture); Wes Skaggs (head golf professional, Crystal Falls Golf Club, Leander); Matt Trevino (head golf professional, Riverhill Country Club, Kerrville); and David von Hoffman (head golf professional, Escondido, Escondido).

Joining them will be STPGA President Marc DeWall (head golf professional, The Clubs of Cordillera Ranch,, Boerne), Captain’s Pick Randy Jones (head golf professional, Alamo Country Club, San Antonio), and senior representative Troy Schleicher (senior professional, Matt Swanson Golf Center, Houston).

The Northern Texas PGA will be led by Captain Mark Viskozki, the head golf professional and director of golf at Tangle Ridge Golf Club, and also includes nine Professionals who gained team membership through points earnings.

They are: Robert Boisvert (director of golf, Harbor Lakes Country Club, Granbury); Larry Bryan (head golf professional, Big Spring Country Club, Big Spring); Patrick Buhrmann (head golf professional, Abilene Country Club, Abilene); Cameron Doan (head golf professional, Preston Trail Golf Club, Dallas); Kevin Golding (head golf professional, Four Seasons Resort and Club, Irving); Jason Hase (head golf professional, San Angelo Country Club, San Angelo); Britt Patton (head golf professional, Dallas National Golf Club, Dallas); Craig Pullen (head golf professional, Oakmont Country Club, Corinth); and Greg Sikes (head golf professional, Hogan Park Golf Course, Midland).

Rounding out the NTPGA team are Captain’s Pick Ronny Glanton (head golf professional, Sherrill Park Golf Course, Richardson), NTPGA President Billy Harris (head golf professional, Dallas Country Club, Dallas), and senior representative Lindy Miller (teaching professional, Shady Oaks Country Club, Fort Worth).

The teams will report to the Four Seasons Resort for practice rounds, opening ceremonies and the Texas Joe Black Cup Matches Dinner on Oct. 31. The 2010 competition will kick off with six four-ball and six foursome matches on Nov. 1, followed by a dozen singles matches on Nov. 2. The Southern Texas PGA must win 12 points (each match produces a total of one point) to retain the Texas Joe Black Cup. The Northern Texas PGA must win 12.5 points to take control of the Cup.

The Texas Joe Black Cup Matches were established to honor Texas native Joe Black, who was then completing his first term as president of the PGA of America. A key figure in the history of the PGA and both the Northern and Southern Texas Sections of the PGA of America, Black now resides in Dripping Springs. He remains active in golf and currently sits on the Board of Directors of the Texas Golf Hall of Fame, which he helped re-establish and relocate to San Antonio’s historical Brackenridge Park Golf Course.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Please refrain from using profanity or insulting other commenters your comments. Use common sense; in other words: Play nice! Thanks.